for Your Rights!
You have probably landed on this page because you have been charged and arrested with the crime of driving under the influence commonly referred to as DUI.
Tennessee is relatively strict when it comes to this crime compared to the rest of the country. Even on the first conviction, there is mandatory jail time of 48 hours, unlike many states which only require a class. If your blood alcohol level was over 0.20% you could be looking at a minimum of seven consecutive days in jail.
In Tennessee, DUI is considered a misdemeanor offense which means the charge carries no more than one year in jail. However, if you have been charged with a DUI for the fourth time or more this can be charged as a felony which can lead to over one year in jail.
The stakes are especially high if you hold a CDL license also known as a commercial driver's license. The prosecution may be able to get a conviction with a blood alcohol level of only 0.04%.
The penalties for driving under the influence can be even more strict. If a child under the age of eighteen was present in the vehicle at the time, you could be sentenced to an additional 30 days of incarceration. It can get even worse if that child suffered serious bodily injury, the state could charge you with vehicular assault which is a class D felony.
Further discomforts that may accompany a DUI conviction include transdermal, electronic, or global positioning monitoring devices along with random alcohol or drug testing.
The costs associated with a DUI charge can cause a massive financial burden. For example, on the first offense, you can be fined $350, for a second offense $600, for a third offense $1100, and a fourth offense $3,000.
Furthermore, a person convicted of this offense will have their license revoked for one year. Fortunately, on the first offense, you can apply for a restricted license if you install an interlock system.
If you have been charged with this offense, you should retain a DUI attorney immediately. Every day that passes evidence may be lost which may be crucial to your case. Upon speaking to an attorney they will be able to take the necessary steps to preserve any vital evidence to your defense.
Witnesses can be crucial to your case, especially those you were around hours leading up to your arrest. That is why the attorney you hire must have the ability to interview them immediately.
There is a list of important questions any experienced DUI attorney will ask. The first of which is why did the police stop you in the first place. The second question will likely be is there a videotape that shows the events before the stop and the activities during the stop. The next question that would be asked is did you perform any field sobriety tests and how do you think you did. Another important question is do you have any health conditions that could affect your performance of these tests. Furthermore, how was the weather during the stop, the lighting, and the incline of the area you performed these tests. Finally, did you take a blood or a breath test?